Erasmus+in Iceland

Erasmus + is divided into;

  • Centralised actions which are managed by the Educational, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) of the European Commission
  • Decentralised actions which are managed by National Agencies in the 33  participating countries (the 28 EU countries, the EEA countries Iceland, Norway and Lichtenstein, Turkey and Macedonia)

A simplified programme, Erasmus +  has only three key actions and a two special sections, Jean Monnet for Higher Education and a section for Sport. These actions cover all educational fields – from school to higher education – as well as youth and sport initiatives.  These actions are:

  1. Key Action 1- Mobility of individuals
  2. Key Action 2- Cooperation for Innovation and the Exchange of good practices
  3. Key Action 3- Support for policy reforms

Parts of all Key Actions are managed decentrally by Erasmus+National Agencies while some individual activities under Key Action 2 and Key Action 3 are managed centrally by the EACEA in Brussels.

The Icelandic Erasmus+ National Agency.

In Iceland the Erasmus + National Agency for all sectors is hosted by The Icelandic Centre for Research (Rannís) in accordance with an agreement between Rannís and the Ministry of Education, Science and Culture. 

In addition to hosting the National Agency for the Erasmus +Programme the Ministry of Education, Science and Culture has also delegated the management of other European and national initiatives and programmes to Rannís. These include among others:

Contact information


Erasmus + staff

This website is built with Eplica CMS